Ovechkin Wins the Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy. Again.

Posted April 7, 2019

ROCKET RICHARD BEST!)))))))))))))))))) (Caps Outsider)

For the eighth time in his career, Alex Ovechkin won the Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy as the NHL’s leading goal scorer, with 51. This one came down to the wire as Edmonton’s Leon Draisaitl was two behind going into his final game, scoring 1 for his 50th but one behind Ovechkin.

It is the eighth time Ovechkin won this trophy (and he came close to another once), the most number of times a player led the league in goals in NHL history. He’s won it 6 of the past 7 seasons, which is oddly four times more than the number of times he won it in his first seven seasons.

While the actual trophy has only been given out since 1998-98, it still holds true that Ovi has led the league in goal scoring more years than anyone else.

Caps fans, this is a friggin’ treat having Ovechkin on our team. The Washington area has never had such a dominant athlete like this.

Now, let’s enjoy it as he brings home another Stanley Cup.

Go Caps.

Season Player Goals
2018-19 Alex Ovechkin 51
2017-18 Alex Ovechkin 49
2016-17 Sidney Crosby 44
2015-16 Alex Ovechkin 50
2014-15 Alex Ovechkin 53
2013-14 Alex Ovechkin 51
2012-13 Alex Ovechkin 32
2011-12 Steven Stamkos 60
2010-11 Corey Perry 50
2009-10 Steven Stamkos 51
2008-09 Alex Ovechkin 56
2007-08 Alex Ovechkin 65
2006-07 Vincent Lecavalier 52
2005-06 Jonathan Cheechoo 56