Poll: Who Will Lead the Caps in Penalty Minutes?

Posted August 6, 2011

Since the departure of Donald Brashear, two Capitals have led the team in penalty minutes in the past two seasons – Alex Ovechkin (yes, Ovie had 89 in 2009-10, padded by a couple of game misconducts), and Matt Hendricks with 110 last season. However, also last season, John Erskine had 16 fewer minutes in four fewer games than Hendricks, so I’d say Hendricks is not a lock to take this crown again.

Without a designated enforcer, other than D.J. King who is unlikely to play much (though he’s still technically on the roster), the Caps may come out with a bit of an attitude in 2011-12, and may grind a few gears in their pursuit of Lord Stanley. And why not? Scoring a lot of goals didn’t work two seasons ago, and playing the trap didn’t work last season, so maybe this season they’ll take the Broad Street Bully approach. Okay, maybe not. But we still ask, who will lead the team in penalty minutes?

Who will lead the Caps in penalty minutes?

  • Matt Hendricks (55%, 183 Votes)
  • Troy Brouwer (11%, 38 Votes)
  • Alex Semin (11%, 37 Votes)
  • John Erskine (10%, 34 Votes)
  • Joel Ward (5%, 16 Votes)
  • Alex Ovechkin (4%, 12 Votes)
  • Roman Hamrlik (2%, 6 Votes)
  • Jason Chimera (1%, 5 Votes)
  • Dennis Wideman (1%, 2 Votes)
  • Brooks Laich (0%, 1 Votes)

Total Voters: 334

Loading ... Loading ...

Follow us on Twitter and like our Facebook page.