Ovechkin Wins Best NHL Player Award at ESPYs — Again!

Posted July 11, 2019

The 2019 ESPY Awards hosted by comedian and SNL alumnus Tracy Morgan aired live Tuesday evening on ABC. It was a star-studded evening that brought the best of the best from the world of sports to celebrate outstanding achievements in the past year. Although he was not in attendance to receive the award, Caps’ captain, Alex Ovechkin, was the recipient of the Best NHL Player award. He is a repeat winner as he won the same award last year. This year, he was in good company in the category with Nikita Kucherov (Tampa Bay Lightning), Nathan MacKinnon (Colorado Avalanche) and Connor McDavid (Edmonton Oilers).  Ovi was not in attendance because he is in training while vacationing with his family in Italy.

Last season, Ovi also received the Best Male Athlete award. He is the first NHL player to win the award since the inaugural ESPYs in 1993.

There have only been a few players to win the Best NHL Player award more than once: Mario Lemieux (‘93,’94,’98,), Dominik Hasek(‘99,2000), Jarome Iginla (‘02,’04), Sidney Crosby (‘07,’08,’09,10,13,14,16,17).

Congratulations Ovi on another big win!

Let’s Go Caps!