Ted Leonsis Accepts Caps’ Induction into DC Sports Hall of Fame

Posted June 23, 2019

Photos by Caps Outsider.

On Sunday at Nationals Park, Caps owner Ted Leonsis represented the Washington Capitals as their 2017-18 Stanley Cup-winning team was inducted into the D.C. Sports Hall of Fame.

“There’s a bit of immortality that you get, there’s a bit of memory that’s created with everyone in the organization that you share forever,” Leonsis told NBC Washington’s Rob Carlin. “It’s those special one-of-a-kind moments that motivate us to get to work.”

The 2017-18 Caps were the first team to be inducted, but considering what happened last year, they made an exception.

“I’ve always tried to pick Teds brain when I was here,” said Kevin Payne, the first president and CEO of D.C. United, who was also inducted. “He’s one of the real visionary sports owners in the country.”

According to the D.C. Sports Hall of Fame, these folks were selected “based on their outstanding accomplishments in the world of sports, thereby bringing honor and recognition to the nation’s capital.”

The D.C. Sports Hall of Fame was founded in 1980.

Others inducted included longtime Redskins player Charles Mann, Washington Post horse racing columnist Andrew Beyer, and basketball player Danny Ferry.

More information on the Washington DC Sports Hall of Fame can be found at dcsportshall.com.

Others inducted on Sunday.

Andrew Beyer – covered horse racing for the Washington Post for four decades, created the Beyer Speed Figure

Tom Brown – two-sport professional athlete, played with the Washington Senators and Washington Redskins

Sasho Cirovski – winningest coach in U. of Maryland men’s soccer history, three-time NCAA champion

Tom Dolan – two-time Olympic gold medal-winning swimmer (1996 and 2000) and former world record holder

Danny Ferry – men’s basketball national player of the year at DeMatha Catholic High School and Duke University

Ray Flaherty (1903-1994) – first head coach of the Washington Redskins, two-time NFL champion

Charles Mann – two-time NFL Super Bowl champion during 11 seasons with the Washington Redskins

Kevin Payne – first president and CEO of DC United and four-time MLS Cup champion

Cathy Reese – three-time coach of the year with U. of Maryland women’s lacrosse, 12-time NCAA champion

Allie Ritzenberg (1918-2018) – fixture of D.C.’s tennis community for nearly eight decades

2017-18 Washington Capitals – 2018 Stanley Cup champions, brought first NHL title to D.C.