Caps Win 7th Southeast Division Title

Posted April 23, 2013

Drawing via Paul Nichols – see complete image on his Twitter account

With a 5-3 victory on Tuesday against the Winnipeg Jets, the Washington Capitals won their seventh (and final) Southeast division championship. It’s the most any team won in the 14 seasons of the division’s existence, with this year being the last before realignment.

Check out this dominance:

Team Banners
Washington Capitals 7
Carolina Hurricanes 3
Tampa Bay Lightning 2
Atlanta Thrashers/Winnipeg Jets 1
Florida Panthers 1


Some have argued that the SE Division is terrible this year. Here’s where I’d like to flamboyantly shrug my shoulders. These are the minor things that Caps fans have to celebrate and no one can take that away from us.

The Capitals are the only team in that division to have won the Presidents’ Trophy, with a division record of 121 points in 2009–10. Sure, both the Tampa Bay Lightning and Carolina Hurricanes actually won Stanley Cups out of this division, but this season isn’t over yet and despite midseason naysayers, the Caps still have a shot.

The Caps Cat did all the research for this article.

The Caps Cat did all the research for this article.