Stingrays Announce Protected Roster

Posted June 2, 2016

Trevor Gillies is protected. (via the Stingrays)

In conjunction with all ECHL teams, the South Carolina Stingrays announced their Protected List of players heading into the 2016-17 regular season.

The Protected List of players features some prominent names from this season along with names from previous seasons who did not play for the Stingrays in 2015-16. The Stingrays are allowed to do this if the player signed a Standard Player Contract (SPC) and then subsequently signed with an NHL/AHL/international team, all without getting traded or released.

Players like Vitek Vanecek, Caleb Herbert, and Tyler Lewington are not eligible to be protected because their contracts are not with the Stingrays. All three of those players are signed to NHL Washington.

Other players on AHL contracts, who also cannot be protected, are as follows (unless stated, their contract is with Hershey): Bobby Shea, Joey Leach, Mark Dekanich, Austin Fyten, Max Sauve, and Andrew Rowe (Bridgeport). Derek DeBlois (Lake Erie) signed his AHL deal after resigning with South Carolina, so he is eligible for protection.

The Protected List is as follows, those who did not appear for the Stingrays are given with the teams they played for:

FORWARDS: Brett Cameron, Andrew Cherniwchan (Providence Bruins), Derek DeBlois, Joe Devin, Patrick Gaul, Trevor Gillies, David Pacan, Wayne Simpson (Portland Pirates), Jared Staal, Stephan Vigier, Kelly Zajac

DEFENSE: Nick D’Agostino, Wade Epp, Spencer Humphries, Drew MacKenzie (Dornbirn EC, Austria), Ryan Ruikka, Colton Saucerman