Stingrays Make Playoffs for 27th Time in 28 Seasons

Posted June 4, 2021

via the Stingrays

The 2020-21 ECHL season has been anything but normal. The 26-team league was split into two-divisions of seven teams each with the top-four making the playoffs. The majority of 14 teams started an intended-72 game season in December that concludes in early June. But the one thing you could always count on in the ECHL was that the South Carolina Stingrays would make the playoffs.

Despite a mid-season scare with a 10 game losing streak, the Rays did just that on Friday. They clinched the fourth seed in the Eastern Conference thanks to an Orlando Solar Bears loss to the Jacksonville Icemen. The Stingrays defeated the Solar Bears Thursday in Orlando 6-2.

Including the pandemic shortened season, as the Stingrays had already clinched a playoff spot by the time the season was suspended and eventually canceled, they have made the playoffs in 27 of their 28 seasons.

The Stingrays will face the league-leading Florida Everblades in the best-of-five first round. The series will follow a 2-3 format with Game 1 being in North Charleston Monday, June 7 at 7:05.

Full schedule
Game 2 – Florida at South Carolina – Wednesday, June 9 at 7:05 p.m.
Game 3 – South Carolina at Florida – Saturday, June 12 at 7 p.m.
Game 4* – South Carolina at Florida – Sunday, June 13 at 6 p.m.
Game 5* – South Carolina at Florida – Monday, June 14 at 7:30 p.m.
*if necessary