Stingrays Announce Season-Ending Roster

Posted June 17, 2016

(via the Stingrays)

The offseason is in full swing in the East Coast Hockey League, beginning with the announcement of Season-Ending Rosters. These rosters are limited to players under ECHL contracts and cannot exceed 20 players.

Here are the players on the South Carolina Stingrays Season-Ending Roster (12 skaters in all):

FORWARDS: Brett Cameron, Derek DeBlois, Joe Devin, Patrick Gaul, Trevor Gillies*, Stephan Vigier, Kelly Zajac


DEFENSE: Nick D’Agostino, Wade Epp, Colton Saucerman, Steve Weinstein

*denotes Veteran players

Weinstein was traded to the Stingrays as the “future considerations” part of the deal that sent Colin Mulvey to the Cincinnati Cyclones.

From this Season-Ending Roster, the Stingrays are only allowed to reserve the ECHL rights of eight through qualifying offers. These qualifying offers may not be extended to more than four veterans (defined as playing more than 260 regular season professional games by the start of the 2016-2017 season).

Qualifying offers (QOs) are valid until August 1, by which time the player in question becomes a restricted free agent (RFA). Skaters or goaltenders with over 180 games of professional experience are the only ones who qualify for RFA status. Non-veterans given a QO who do not sign still have their rights held by the team that extended the QO for one more playing season.

Should an RFA receive an offer from a team other than the one that holds his rights, and the player wishes to sign with the new team, he must notify the ECHL, his former team, and the Professional Hockey Players Association within 24 hours. His former team will have seven days to match the offer.

If an RFA goes unsigned by August 31, he becomes an unrestricted free agent and can sign with any team.