Want to Win an Award on the Bears? Join Twitter!

Posted April 9, 2012

Ryan Potulny accepts the AHL Player of the Week Award from Bears President/GM Doug Yingst (All Photos Credit: M. Richter)

It’s awards season in the AHL, and Hershey is right in the thick of it.  Last night was the team’s final regular season home game, therefore both Fan Appreciation Night and Team Awards Night.

Nine awards were handed out, for the standard categories of high performance and being fantastic examples of humanity.  They’re also a remarkably chatty group, for the most part – seven of the nine awards were presented to active members of the twitter community.  Those same six individuals also happen to be signed with the Caps, which makes decoding the list below nice and easy.

Here are the basics (Player names in bold are currently under contract with the Capitals):

The often overlooked Andrew Carroll accepts the Arlene Tithe Award.

AHL Man of the Year (service to the community off the ice): Joel Rechlicz

AHL Player of the Week: Ryan Potulny

(5G + 2A = 7P, including first Hat Trick in Hershey in 2 years)

Travers/Summers Award (Best +/-): Boyd Kane (+16)

Kenny Smith Memorial Player of the Game AwardRyan Potulny

Arlene Tithe Award (Unsung Hero): Andrew Carroll

Dan Sernoffsky Award (Most Improved)Garrett Mitchell

Milton Barland Award (Best Defenseman): Tomas Kundratek

Jack Gingrich Award (Rookie of the Year): Cody Eakin (currently in Washington)

PNC Team MVP: Chris Bourque (AHL League Leader in Overall Points, Team Leader in a ridiculous number of categories)

The staff at Capitals Outsider congratulates all of the award winners on their achievements this year.

Should you feel the need to find out what Tomas Kundratek had for dinner, or whether the Bears are betting on the Masters, you can find a list of Hershey-Related twitters here.

Awards deserve smiles and congratulations. A whole lot of both to this year's crop of winners!

Note: Stick Tap to Angie Lewis (TheHockeyWriters Senior Correspondent & SB Nation NHI Contributor) for passing along a written list of awards & winners!