What the Heck Was That Call on Braden Holtby?

Posted October 11, 2017

(Caps Outsider)

A bizarre play unfolded in the first period Wednesday as Pittsburgh’s Carl Hagelin chased after a loose puck between him and Caps goalie Braden Holtby. Hagelin touched it first but Holtby ‘saved’ it, thus saving a true breakaway. The ‘save’ was, perhaps, a ‘cover,’ and after that, he scooted it forward with his glove but was called for a Delay of Game/Illegal play by a Goalie. You know, the call no ref has ever made in any league ever in the history of the universe.

After the game, Barry Trotz said the ref’s explanation of the call cited the fact that Holtby covered it (well outside his ‘area’), to keep it from a Penguins player. There might not have been a penalty otherwise.

Here’s a link to what we believe the rule is referring to.

Regardless, the play saved a breakaway so Holtby did the right thing.

Washington Capitals 2018 Stanley Cup Champs Gear